RSS

MY NEW CLASSMATES (ND: JOURNALISM)

12 Feb

Helloweeni Peeps!

As I have said before that this is a new year that I want to be a different kind of me – a new me.  Yolanda Klaas 2.0: The Sequel…

zero-to-hero-boxing1

I’ve always been kind of timid and lacking a bit of self-confidence.  I struggle in believing I’m good enough at anything and I’ve always believed that there’s someone who’s better than me in whatever I do.  But at the end of 2014 I foresaw 2015 as my year to “SHOW-OFF”.  to show-off whatever brilliance that might be hiding in me, to show-off whatever difference-making intelligence I know is inside of me and to show-off… well, i think you’re smart enough to get the point by now.

Yeah, that was who I wanted to be… until I met my classmates!

#Jaw On The Floor#

strong_brain

Those people are incredible!  They are still three years away from their diplomas, and an extra year away from their degree, yet their “C.V’s” look unbelievably impressive.  When I heard of who they are and what they did, my year to show-off went down the drain.  One guy, I think his name is Vince, worked for eNCA (the news channel) as an executive producer.  There brother’s got jokes for days, but don’t let that facade fool you – nigga got brains!  One lady, Michelle (she’s such a great human being), works as a newswritter at a radio station.  Another girl was in Law School.  A guy called Unathi, my best friend so far, writes for Media24.  There’s a guy called Chris and a lady called Thoko, I have a feeling those two might blow us away with their prowess in the course of this year.  And then there are those irritating somebodies that you wish you could exterminate with a Big-Ass Doom (bug spray).  The list goes on and on and on.  But I’m liking everyone in my class.

But honestly, none impressed me more than this girl called Yolanda.  No, it’s not because we share  the same name.  This girl is super intelligent and such a wordsmith.  She writes from the heart.  If Maya Angelou and William Shakespeare had a baby, she’d be it – but more prettier.  What’s unbelievable (and in someway sad) is that she has no idea how great of a writer she is, especially her IsiXhosa writing.  she will be somebody in the media world.

But enough about my classmates, coz this is still my blog Damnit!  I’m glad and I thank God that I’m surrounded by such amazing minds.  But since my first day I’ve been asking myself: Do I really deserve to be in such intellectual presence?  Well, what I can tell you is that God put me where I currently am for a purpose.  The lesson I’m busy teaching myself, or at the very least trying to, is that however much you know doesn’t count.  What counts is what you do with it.  And whatever background you may come from, the passion you have in your dream will propel you to new heights.  I wish my classmates all the best of luck for the year.

So… Is there a chick that I may have a crush on in my class..?

That’s none of your business, Voetsek! LOL!

And as for my answer to why am I among such intellect… IT WAS WRITTEN!

‘Till Next Time Peeps, STAY GOODEST! (twitter: @kingyobho; facebook: King Yolanda Klaas III)

 
4 Comments

Posted by on February 12, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , ,

4 responses to “MY NEW CLASSMATES (ND: JOURNALISM)

  1. thespunkykid

    February 12, 2015 at 16:02

    You have no idea how much I needed to read this

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • kingyobho

      February 12, 2015 at 23:56

      Lol! Why’s that? Did it boost your confident levels up a notch?

      Like

       
  2. pinkrunningkicks

    February 12, 2015 at 16:09

    Youre funny! You ARE sitting in the midst of the Creator of the Universe. Not only that He resides in you. You talk to Him daily and He speaks to you. He created the jobs and opportunities of your new classmates for their destinies. So if this same God is in you why do you lack confidence? Your purpose is already predestined so enjoy the journey.

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • kingyobho

      February 13, 2015 at 00:05

      Wow, I needed to hear that. And I’m now starting to realise that as we sit in the same classroom, we are all equal. We serve an awesome God, if I portray my love for writing in my work, and keep my faith in him, I’ll be propelled beyond the cosmos. Thanks for reading!

      Liked by 1 person

       

Leave a Reply

 
