RSS

PRIDE IS A SHAM & RACIAL EQUALITY IS STILL A DREAM

22 Jun

Helloweeni Peeps!

PRIDE : (noun) A feeling of deep pleasure or satisfaction derived in one’s own achievements, or qualities, or possessions that do one’s credit.

pride-1

I could never understand ethnic or national pride.  Because to me pride should be reserved for something you achieve or attain on your own, not something that happens by accident of birth.  Being black or white isn’t a skill, it’s a fuckin’ genetic accident!  You wouldn’t say “I’m proud to be a midget.” or “I’m proud of my autism.”  So why the fuck would you be proud to be black or white, South African or American, or anything?  Being proud of your skin colour, your gender, your nationality, your tribe, your sexual orientation seems to me so stupid.  If you want to be proud, do something beneficial to mankind and stop bragging about things you had by mere chance.

Did you achieve something so great that they rewarded you with your skin colour, or where to be born?  Do any of these characteristics contribute in you being a good or a bad person?  No, I don’t think so.  Now I’m sick and tired of reading facebook statuses that say “I’M PROUD OF BEING A MAN,” “I’M PROUD OF BEING A WOMAN,” “I’M PROUD OF BEING GAY,” “I’M PROUD OF BEING STRAIGHT,” “PROUDLY BLACK,” “PROUDLY WHITE,” etc. etc.  Do you realise how stupid these statements sound?  I have embraced being a young black man.  I love being a young black man.  I recently read a facebook status by a friend of mine that read “I don’t hate the white child, I just love the black child more.”  I very much respect that honesty and share the exact same feelings.  You might ask: “Isn’t that a bit racist?”  Hell yeah it’s racist!  But being racist isn’t necessarily a bad thing.  You’ve got to investigate the context of my racism before judging whether it’s good or bad.  See, I don’t believe my race is superior than others, but I 100% believe it can be and I want it to be.  I don’t and will never belittle, abuse other races as a stepping stone to get ahead, or look down on them with disdain.  That’s the kind of racist, if you regard my remarks as being racist, I am or may be.  No race is in competition with another.  We’re just doing something beneficial to mankind.  It may begin with an upliftment of a particular race, but at the end of the day, it’s all for the greater good – humankind.  So I believe that true pride lies in achieving something you’ve earned for yourself, your “people” (whatever that may mean for you) and mankind.  Not this sham.

499w

Humankind.  Mankind.  These words make the world we live in sound like this “Kumbayah” and jolly kind of place.  I’m afraid it’s not.

EQUALITY: (noun) The state of being equal, especially in rights, status and opportunity.

Do you, as a black man or woman, think you receive the same opportunities as a white man or woman?  The world likes to turn a blind eye to reality that most white people (not all) always have a head-start.  Compared to whites with the same qualifications, black people are less likely to get hired and more likely to earn lesser wages, to be charged higher prices for consumer goods and to be denied housing in a predominantly white neighbourhood.  Racial disparities haven’t just persisted, they’ve increased!  The black man today is not struggling for some abstract, vague rights, but for concrete and prompt improvement in his way of life.  What will it profit him to send his children to an integrated school if the family income is insufficient to buy them school clothes?  What will he gain by being permitted to move into an integrated neighbourhood if he cannot afford to do so because he is unemployed or has a low-paying job with no future?

I know some of you will be like, “Oh no, not another black man complaining.” Or “Not another black man blaming the past for what he doesn’t have.”  Hell yes, I’m complaining!  Of course I’m blaming the past for for my current fucked up situation.  Who else will I blame?  I blame the slave masters of our grandfathers and the jailers of our fathers.  For it is them who enslaved our minds before we were even conceived.  It is them who made damn sure we have nothing to inherit.  They not only enslaved our minds, but also the minds of today’s white generation.  Where if you walk into a clothing store, someone will follow you, staring at you like a hawk.  Where the police beat you up even if not resisting arrest (what happened to innocent till proven guilty).  All because a black man is regarded as a hostile creature.  When last did you see police hassling a white guy for roaming the streets at night?

Guys lets not act like we’re asleep and oblivious to these happenings.  But don’t mistake this as an excuse to get lazy and feel the world owes you because of the injustices people of similar skin pigmentation were suffering under.  WORK BLACK MAN WORK!  The world don’t owe you shit!  The black man don’t owe you shit!  The white man don’t… uhm, well that’s debatable 😉 .

1558497_929686483717787_9008241846900953128_n

King Yobho

I’m black.  I’m not proud to be black because I have no choice but to be black.  But I want us as black people to have pride in our contributions to mankind.  We are stereotyped as jailbirds.  We are stereotyped for excelling in sports rather than academics.  Let’s not let that get us down.  Let’s embrace that for stereotypes are the for a reason.  Like it or not, there is some element of truth in stereotypes.  Let’s go to jail for a cause we believe in.  Maya Angelou once said “There’s nothing wrong with going to jail for what you believe is right.”  So what if they think we’re not smart enough?  You’re not going to school for them; you’re there to enrich your mind, and one day, your bank account.  And play that sport!  At least you’ll be healthy and live longer than their lazy sorry asses…lol…  I love you all – whatever race you may be.  I just love the black child more!

‘Till Next Time Peeps, BHA-BHAYINI!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 22, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
